Bay City, Michigan 48706
Front Page 07/12/2024 06:47 About us
Home Sports Community Arts/Theater Business Economy - Local The Scene
History Health/Fitness Contests
Issue 1207 April 10, 2011
(Prior Story)   Sports ArTicle 5834   (Next Story)

Randy Wackerle (Right) and Chad Krager teamed up to claim the 34th Annual Bean-Smith Paddleball Tournament at the Bay Area Family YMCA

Wackerle-Krager Claim Bean-Smith Paddleball Honors

34th Annual Tourney Will Be Last in Old YMCA Building

April 3, 2011       Leave a Comment
By: O. J. Cunningham

Printer Friendly Story View

Bay City's Chad Krager, last year's National Doubles Champion teamed with Randy Wackerle to squeeze out first place in the final standings.

The Open Division competition saw some of the top players in the Nation compete for the top spot. Mike Wisniewski, last year's National Singles Champion, teamed with Bay City's Chad Schwall to claim 3rd place. Sandy DeGreif (Bay City) and Saginaw's Andrew Price earned 2nd place on points and wins in the round robin play.

Nancy Powers - Tournament Director
Coca-Cola and Ideal Party Store
Were T-Shirt Sponsors for the Event.
Wackerle, a 2001 inductee into the Bay County Sports Hall of Fame, has now claimed 45 doubles titles with 31 different partners. This is his second title with a former student.

The names Herb Bean and Fred Smith are well-known among veteran paddle-ballers at the Bay Area Family YMCA. Bean, a circus clown and acrobat, and Smith, a local businessman, were both long-time paddleball players from Bay City.

When Bean passed away unexpectedly during surgery, Fred Smith started a paddleball tournament in Herb Bean's honor. The following year, Smith also passed away unexpectedly and thus the Bean/Smith Tournament was born - Now in its 34th year.

Fourteen teams from around the State competed in the 34th Annual Bean/Smith Paddleball Tournament at the Bay Area Family YMCA in Bay City over the week-end.

This will be the last paddleball tournament held at this site. The 2012 tournament will be played at the new Dow Y.

Ron Harris and Rick Clewis from Ann Arbor defeated Bay City's Judy Pretzer and Ted Jevicks in the Class "B" final in a close tie-breaker.

Two Midland teams battled for the "C" title with Keith Thurlow and Gary Levandowski defeating Don Traxler and Todd Carr in two games.

Tournament Director Nancy Powers ran another smooth tournament for the 34th year. Coca-Cola and Ideal Party Store were T-Shirt sponsors for the event.

Class B Champs -- Ron Harris and Rick Clewis

Class C Champs -- Keith Thurlow and Gary Levandowski

Printer Friendly Story View
Prior Article

February 10, 2020
by: Rachel Reh
Family Winter Fun Fest is BACC Hot Spot for 2/10/2020
Next Article

February 2, 2020
by: Kathy Rupert-Mathews
MOVIE REVIEW: "Just Mercy" ... You Will Shed Tears, or at Least You Should
Agree? or Disagree?

O. J. Cunningham

O. J. Cunningham is the Publisher of Cunningham previously published Sports Page & Bay City Enterprise. He is the President/CEO of OJ Advertising, Inc.

More from O. J. Cunningham

Send This Story to a Friend!       Letter to the editor       Link to this Story
Printer-Friendly Story View

--- Advertisments ---

0200 Nd: 07-08-2024 d 4 cpr 1

12/31/2020 P3v3-0200-Ad.cfm


12/31/2020 drop ads P3v3-0200-Ad.cfm

Designed at OJ Advertising, Inc. (V3) (v3) Software by Mid-Michigan Computer Consultants
Bay City, Michigan USA
All Photographs and Content Copyright © 1998 - 2024 by OJA/MMCC. They may be used by permission only.
P3V3-0200 (1) 0   ID:Default   UserID:Default   Type:reader   R:x   PubID:mbC   NewspaperID:1207
  pid:1560   pd:11-18-2012   nd:2024-07-08   ax:2024-07-12   Site:5   ArticleID:5834   MaxA: 999999   MaxAA: 999999
CCBot/2.0 (