Bay City, Michigan 48706
Front Page Photo of the Day Log-IN About us
Home Second Floor The Experts Events Podcasts Community Arts/Theater
Business Schools Government Downtown Local News Opinion Health/Fitness
Events Groups & Non-Profits
Issue 1561 November 25, 2012
(Prior Story)   Sports ArTicle 10381   (Next Story)


(L/R) Open Division: Chad Krager, Class A: Jim Owens, Class B: Karl Briggs, Class C: Thomas Bodary, and Over-The-Line Champ - Randy Wackerle.

Krager Is 4th Annual Wack Attack Paddleball Tourney Open Champ

April 9, 2016       Leave a Comment
By: O. J. Cunningham

Printer Friendly Story View

Randy Wackerle has been the "face" of Bay City paddleball for close to 50 years.

Wackerle has been so popular over the years that the powers that be named the annual Bay City Championship as the Wack Attack Paddleball Tournament.

2016 Tournament Director Mike Wisniewski said it was "the right thing to do" when the Bay Area Family YMCA re-named Bay City's "City Tournament" to honor Wackerle's paddleball career. "His contribution to the game is hard to put into words," Wisniewski said.

Sponsor for the 2016 Tournament was Karl Briggs.

In the "Open" Division finals. Chad Krager defeated Adam Koehler in a hard-fought 3-set final. It was Krager's first time playing in the "Wack Attack" competition.

Krager's win marked the 4th time in 4 years that a different player has claimed the "Open" Division championship. Previous winners have been: Greg Keenan (2013), Andrew Price (2014), Mike Wisniewski (2015) and Krager 2016).

Jim Owens defeated Bay City's Scott Wittbrodt 15-9, 15-4 IN THE "A" FINALS.Owens is this year's only out-of-town champion. Owens is the current President of the National Paddleball Association and lives in Ann Arbor.

Karl Briggs defeated Jim Price 21-13, 21-20 in Class B competition.Both players play out of Saginaw.

Bay City's Thomas Bodary defeated Saginaw's Mitch Larson 15-14, 11-15, 11-2 in the Class C Division in a match that was finally settled in a 3rd set tie-breaker.

In the exhausting "Over The Line" Division, Randy Wackerle won for the third straight year with an 11-8, 11-9 hard-fought battle against Chad Krager.

Four-Year History of the WACK ATTACK Bay City Paddleball Tournament.
Photo by O. J. Cunningham

Printer Friendly Story View
Prior Article

July 15, 2019
by: Stephen Kent
Tall Ship Celebration Return To Bay City Unaffected By High Water Levels
Next Article

July 14, 2019
by: Dave Rogers
NEW HOME for Alternative Students Gears Up for School Year
Agree? or Disagree?

O. J. Cunningham

O. J. Cunningham is the Publisher of Cunningham previously published Sports Page & Bay City Enterprise. He is the President/CEO of OJ Advertising, Inc.

More from O. J. Cunningham

Send This Story to a Friend!       Letter to the editor       Link to this Story
Printer-Friendly Story View

--- Advertisments ---

0200 Nd: 07-17-2019 d 4 cpr 1


(Ads not affiliated with Google)

Ads By
Begick Nursery and Garden Center

Ads By
Historical Press - By Dave Rogers
Purchase Your Copy Today!

Ads By

Designed at OJ Advertising, Inc. (V3) (v3) Software by Mid-Michigan Computer Consultants
Bay City, Michigan USA
All Photographs and Content Copyright © 1998 - 2019 by OJA/MMCC. They may be used by permission only.
P3V3-0200 (1) 0   ID:Default   UserID:Default   Type:reader   R:x   PubID:mbC   NewspaperID:1561
  pid:1560   pd:11-18-2012   nd:2019-07-17   ax:2019-07-21   Site:5   ArticleID:10381   MaxA: 999999   MaxAA: 999999
CCBot/2.0 (